Finding My Fragrance: A Journey

Nothing like a fragrance to make you feel truly special. That’s what I think anyway… But despite there being thousands of perfumes and scents and more, it’s not that easy to find the one that’s right for you. You can love the smell, on someone else, but maybe it just doesn’t work on your skin. It may be a little early for 2016 resolutions, but I decided I will try to find my fragrance in 2016!

When it comes to perfumes, I’ve always been quite easygoing, I like a lot of scents but I’ve not loved many. I’ve always stuck to the more commercial fragrances and never really branched out into the niche boutiques for more unique and special fragrances. I want to change that, but it’s a bit daunting. How do you start the journey for that fragrance that is totally you?

So far, I have only used 2 scents regularly that I’ve really loved: Givenchy’s Very Irresistible and Burberry’s My Burberry. The first was Very Irresistible in all its varieties. It’s beautiful and it’s the one that gets me the most compliments! The only version I haven’t loved, or even liked, is the last one, Live Irresistible.

The last one to grab my attention was My Burberry, as soon as it was sprayed on me in the Burberry store in Covent Garden, I knew it had to be mine.

That’s about it when it comes to my fragrance loves. I have many more likes: Dahlia Divin (Givenchy), Lola (Marc Jacobs), Chance (Chanel), The One (Dolce & Gabbana),… They’re okay, but nothing more either, they don’t excite me very much!

So what’s the plan? I already have some more adventurous options on my shelf: Alaïa and Elizabeth & James Nirvana Black and White. I like ’em both but want to try them more regularly to see how they work for me.

1-DSC03643

Second part of the big battle plan: work my way through ALL the samples and miniatures! We all get many perfume samples, and I never throw any away. I’ve always kept them and now I want to use them in the big “what scents do I like and work for me” experiment of 2016. Because smelling something for 5 minutes isn’t going to work, I want to test them for a while, because scents can evolve throughout the day. So I’ll go through my samples and try to find what makes me happy and what notes I should be looking for!

3-DSC03648

Next to samples, I’m making an effort to sniff new stuff in stores! I already tried some new things at the Jo Malone and Tom Ford counters in Selfridges Manchester and I think these brands are very high on my list to try more of.

Scents I’ve tried and loved by Tom Ford: Champaca Absolute (Private Blend…) and Velvet Orchid, oh this one is soooooooo good and my husband is a fan too! The only scent that hasn’t made my heart beat a little faster has been Jasmin Rouge. Jasmine is not for me, not in tea, not in scent. (Don’t shoot me if I ever change my mind, I’m open to great Jasmin suggestions!)

From Jo Malone, I wasn’t very into Mimosa & Cardamom (maybe too spicy for my beginner’s taste), but Peony & Blush Suede and Wood Sage & Sea Salt… Yes, please!

There’s so much out there , it’s quite intimidating, but I’m determined to find the one (or more) for me.

If you have any tips or are going through the same fragrance rut, let me know in the comments!

2 thoughts on “Finding My Fragrance: A Journey

  1. Hey Eva,
    Ooit al gehoord van In Fine? Hier kan je je eigen parfum samenstellen. Heb het zelf nog nooit gedaan en spreek dus niet uit ervaring. Maar misschien een hulpmiddel bij je zoektocht? http://www.parfumeur.be/

    Mijn Go to parfum is Dior Addicht Eau fraiche of Marc Jacobs Daisy Eau Fraiche
    Ik heb het nogal voor lichte bloemige geuren 🙂 x

    • Nee, is nieuw voor mij en blijkbaar ook een winkel in Gent, top! Lijkt me wel leuk, ook voor vrijgezellengroepjes enzo. Is al te laat voor mij, maar leuk om weten…

Leave a Reply

