Coco Crazy: Vita Coco Coconut Oil at Beautyqueen

“Eat it. Wear it. Swear by it.” Vita Coco’s slogan that accompanies their Coconut Oil says it all. It has a place in your kitchen, in your bathroom, in short: in your life. 4-DSC03293

I’m sure there are many ways to use it incorporate in yummy recipes, but I’ll leave that to the foodbloggers. How about Coconut Oil in your skin care routine?

By now you’re probably familiar with Vita Coco‘s Coconut water to quench your thirst but I’m more interested in the Coconut Oil.

1-DSC03376

I learned about it at Beautyqueen‘s Tropical Summer Night back in July. It was a Friday night during that smoldering heatwave and by the time I made it from work to Beautyqueen I was very happy to be welcomed with a refreshing Coco drink and a freezing (including ice cubes at my request, it was so hot!) foot bath and rub. After cooling down a bit it was time to get acquainted with the newest product to hit their shelves.

The product itself is as simple as it gets: Coconut Oil. However, the possibilities are endless.

First of all you can use it in its pure form, as I prefer to do. The texture depends on the temperature. When I brought it home it was solid, but after a night in a non air conditioned room it turned liquid (as you can see in the picture below). Depending on which texture you prefer you can refrigerate it (it solidifies below 23°) but it’s not required. It, of course, smells like coconuts.

6-DSC03295

Straight from the jar it can be used as a moisturizer for your skin and conditioner for your hair (you can try it as an intense overnight treatment). I’ve used it on my hair a few times and definitely notice a difference, my hair looks shinier and healthier, but the effect does wear off after the next wash. I don’t know about long-term effects yet, too soon to tell!

My absolute favourite way to use it is as a body moisturizer, especially on my legs after epilating. It’s so incredibly nourishing, I’m hooked!

For those of you who like to make their own products: you can mix Coconut Oil with other ingredients like sugar, honey, salt, etc you could easily find in your pantry.

At the Beautyqueen event there was also a workshop for this, but I had left by then. However, they had already prepped some DIY products and also gave us some recipes so all was not lost.

Make up remover, a hand scrub, a lip balm,… You name it, there’s a recipe. I took one of the eye cream pots with me and I liked it.

For me, this is a great product to always have nearby. A product like this isn’t about drastic results, if I want those I’d look for a specific product aimed at a certain issue I have with my skin. However, this is such a great all-rounder to keep around at all times.

If all of a sudden you run out of conditioner or body lotion, this will save the day! It’s especially nice for those who are into the DIY beauty thing, but even on its own it’s a great multi purpose product to keep in your bathroom.

Check out the Vita Coco website for some more ideas and inspiration or pop into Beautyqueen for your own “jar of wonders”. If my memory serves me right it was about €10,00 for a 250ml jar. And a little goes a long way: great value for money!

Speaking of Beautyqueen… Exciting things are coming soon, so stay tuned for more info, I’ll keep you posted!

 

4 thoughts on “Coco Crazy: Vita Coco Coconut Oil at Beautyqueen

  1. Coconut water is my FAV! I really wish Vita Coco would be more reasonably-priced here tho. I got hooked on it during my trip to New York several years ago, but don’t buy it very often here because it’s quite pricey! I’ve heard wonderful things about coconut oil but I haven’t tried it yet. You’ve certainly got me intrigued again 🙂

  2. Pingback: Make Up Removers Part 2: Gel and Oil | Beauty... and the rest

  3. Pingback: Make Up Removers Part 2: Gel and Oil - Beautywander

Leave a Reply

