Get Packin’: Make Up: Eyes

My eye make up has been simple the last few months, some shadow and mascara and I’m done. So choosing eye products to take on a trip shouldn’t be that hard!

Eye Make Up

 

An eyeshadow primer is a necessity and I’ve never used anything other than Urban Decay‘s Primer Potion. Why change now?

Urban Decay Primer Potion

When it comes to eyeshadow I like a combination of matte shades and shimmery shades, I rarely use mattes or shimmers exclusively.

Single and duo eyeshadows are not practical to take on a trip, they take up too much space and then you have to find matching shades… the hassle! Nothing better than an eyeshadow palette, custom-made or ready-made by your favourite brand. At least 4 shades in a palette, please, otherwise it’s not worth it! I’m trying to limit myself to 3 palettes, we’ll see if I can..

Neutrals are always a good idea and Urban Decay‘s Naked Basics is also the perfect size to throw in my bag.

Urban Decay Naked Basics

Time for some colour now.

I have a custom MAC palette that’s still fairly neutral, but has some more colour to it than the Naked Basics. I chose these shades so I could create several looks with just 1 palette. I’ve never packed just 1 palette in my bag, but it’s good to know I could if I really really had to, I guess.

MAC Custom Palette

It consists of 2 matte shades: Brulé and Copperplate and 2 shades with some shimmer: Shale and Paradisco. I love these shades and this palette. It’s very versatile and the possibilities are endless (well, not really, but you know what I mean). I have green eyes, I think the purple and coral work really well for me.

My favourite eyeshadow palettes are by Chanel, but which one should I chose? Another neutral? Or some more colour?

Chanel Eclosion

I’ll go with Eclosion and its gold, apricot and burgundy shades. It will go perfectly with the shades in my MAC palette, the shades are beautiful for Spring and they don’t require too much “eyeshadow application effort” from me. I don’t plan on wasting my time with intricate eyeshadows looks everyday, no way.

An eyeshadow stick is also great for travel, it’s small, easy to apply and you can use just that 1 shade or add some others as you like. My Kiko Long Lasting Stick Eyeshadow in Golden Chocolate is exactly the colour I was missing in the 3 palettes.

KIKO Long Lasting Stick Eyeshadow - Golden Chocolate

I’m only taking one eyeliner, Lancôme‘s Artliner. I can use eyeshadow for some regular lining and definition, but a liquid liner can’t be replaced, so if I feel like a feline flick, it has to be black liquid liner. It’s almost empty, so I might have to find a replacement soon.

Lancôme Artliner

I could easily go without eyeshadow but mascara a must for me.

I have some samples in my drawer: excellent, that way I have several options but won’t lose too much space.

Armani Black Ecstasy - Chanel Le Volume - Dior Addict It-Lash

I have Le Volume de Chanel (love it!), Dior Addict It-Lash (love it!) and Giorgio Armani Black Ecstasy (never tried it before!).

Last but not least: brows!

Benefit Gimme Brow and Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Wiz

My 2 best and easiest products: Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Wiz (Soft Brown) and Benefit Cosmetics Gimme Brow (Light/Medium). That way I have an option for a super quick and very natural look (Gimme Brow), one for the more defined look (Brow Wiz) and together they could give me the very sculpted and somewhat bold brow look.

Now let’s just wait and see how many of those eyeshadows I will end up using… Probably not enough to justify packing 3 palettes!

Are you also a palette-fan? Or do you mix and match single eyeshadows?

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Get Packin’: Make Up: Eyes

  1. You did good, girl! I also save samples for trips most of the time, unless it’s something I’VE GOT TO TRY NOW!

    All my eyeshadow palettes (I mean big palettes. Quints and quads are fine) are under-loved, but when I travel I always take one of the Naked palettes with me (I have the original and 2). I wouldn’t say I love most of the shades in there more than some of the singles I own, but when you travel you can’t afford to take 10 singles with you!

  2. Pingback: Get Packin': The Aftermath | Beauty... and the rest

Leave a Reply

