Get Packin’: Make Up: Face

After skin care it’s now time for some make up to go into my suitcase! First up: face!

Face Make Up

Everything starts with a primer, the one I’ll be taking is Benefit‘s Porefessional.

Although I adore my Burberry Velvet Foundation, it’s not a contender now. I’m almost running out of it and that bottle is pretty, but seriously bulky.

My other foundations also come in big, glass bottles or they’re not matching my skin tone at the moment. Luckily, I just got myself a new foundation to replace the Burberry one.

Foundations

It’s a foundation I’ve been wanting to try for a while: Chanel‘s Perfection Lumière Velvet (12 Beige Rosé). I’ve noticed I do prefer the velvet, matte finish to the glowy kind (YSL Touche Eclat, for example) and I’ve never tried Chanel foundations before, so I’m curious to see if it works for me. And have you seen that packaging? Travel proof!

Any redness or blemishes that are still visible after applying foundation? Concealer to the rescue! NARS Radiant Creamy Concealer should do the trick. And for dark circles under my eyes (only when they are really bothering me, so not every day, I hope!) I’ll use my Clarins Instant Concealer. I don’t really have any alternatives here, I love these two!

I usually use Chanel Les Beiges as a powder, but I’m taking BourjoisHealthy Balance Powder. It’s a great powder, it mattifies without leaving that dreaded powder residue. The fact that it comes with a mirror just makes it perfect for travel.

Now that the base is covered, time to bring back some light and shadow. I’m not talking hardcore contouring, just some bronze, highlight and blush.

I have some beautiful bronzers and highlighters by Givenchy, Bobbi Brown, Lancôme etc, but I’m going for some less expensive products.

Bronzers

I won some beautiful Rimmel products back in December on Beautyminded, one of them being their Natural Bronzer. It’s not too dark, orange or shimmery, it’s a really good product for its price!

Highlighters

As a highlighter I always take one of my The Body Shop Shimmerwaves, this time it’s the peach ones. It’s similar to The Balm’s Mary-Lou Manizer, but more coral than gold. Mary-Lou Manizer would’ve been a great choice too, but I only seem to use my Shimmerwaves on holiday, so I chose those. Otherwise I’ll never hit pan!
As you can see in the picture above, the Shimmerwaves are very similar to the Shimmerbrick.

Highlighters 2

Because some days just require cream products I’m also taking Kiko‘s Radiant Touch Creamy Stick Highlighter. I have the Rose shade which works perfectly in my stash, that way I have some gold, some coral, some rose, a bit of everything.

Blush

On to blush now, another Kiko stick: Velvet Touch Creamy Stick Blush.  I don’t need much blush because my cheeks tend to go red for numerous reasons, so too much blush (especially if it’s too pink) is definitely not a good look for me. That’s why I tend to go for peach and coral shades. Coral Rose is exactly what I need. Since I love my Charlotte Tilbury blush too damn much, I’m not bringing it with me.

If I was going on a poolside/beach holiday, I would definitely take the Benefit mini’s for blush and highlight.

Next time I’m rummaging through my eyeshadow drawer, see you then!

 

 

 

One thought on “Get Packin’: Make Up: Face

  1. Pingback: Get Packin': The Aftermath | Beauty... and the rest

Leave a Reply

