Get Packin’: Skincare

Part 3 of my Get Packin’ Series has arrived! It’s all about skincare today.

First of all, let’s talk about travel bags. Maybe I should’ve started the series with that, but it’s too late now, so let’s tackle the bags today.

If you follow me on Instagram (@EvaBBlogt), you’ll have seen my pile of make up bags, mostly Gift With Purchases. I have plenty so I don’t need to buy bags, or vanity cases, but there are some very cool ones out there!

Kendra Scott has some beautiful options, I especially love this black beauty! Might have to check those out in the US…

In Belgium, Ici Paris XL also sells beauty and cosmetics bags. There are some limited editions worth looking at:

Vanity Make Up Sahara Desert Vanity Case Blue Lagoon

Both sizes (Make Up = €12,95 and Vanity Case = €19,95)  are available in both colours, but I prefer the Vanity Case in Blue Lagoon. I’ve never paid attention to these in store, next time!

Beautyqueen also sells some really cute bags, so the choice is yours, but for now, I’m sticking to the bags I already have.

For the bits I selected, I chose this puffy Chanel bag, it’s really cute and practical.

Chanel Travel Bag

On to the contents of the bag now: skincare!

A good skincare routine starts with a clean face, so cleansing first.

Cleansers and Toner

First Cleanser/Make Up Remover

Not changing much here, Bioderma Micellar Water will be brought with me, just a small bottle instead of that huge one. (I might pick up a full one, just to be sure…)

Instead of my Clinique Take The Day Off Make Up Remover for Lids, Lashes and Lips I’m taking a travel size alternative: Giorgio Armani’s Perfection Eye Make Up Remover. I’ve tried it once and quite liked it, so this should suffice for the trip.

Make Up Removers

Second Cleanser/Morning Cleanser

I love my Emma Hardie Cleansing Balm, but that pot is not practical as it is, let alone for travel. So that’s staying at home.

I do have another cleanser waiting to be used and it’s in a tube, easier to pack! It’s the Nude Perfect Cleanse Omega Cleansing Jelly. I’ve had this one for months and I can’t wait to try it, I saved it especially to take on a trip because it just seems so easy to pack and use. It’s supposed to be a great make up remover, but I’ll try it as a second cleanse and in the morning. We’ll see how that works out!

Nude Perfect Cleanse Omega Cleansing Jelly

Toner

Again, I love my Pixi Glow Tonic, but the bottle is too big. I have a Kiehl’s Clearly Corrective Clarity-Activating Toner waiting to be used so into the bag it goes.

Kiehl's Clarity-Activating Toner

Time for moisture now, I’m currently using the Chanel Le Jour/La Nuit/Le Weekend system and have been doing so since January, so I’m afraid I might run out while on holiday. Otherwise I would take this trio, but to avoid being left skincare-less after a few days I’m taking some alternatives.

Morning

AM

As an AM moisturiser I’m taking Filorga’s Hydra Filler (mine’s in a tube though), a moisturiser filled with hyaluronic acid for hydration, radiance and plumpness. I’ve never used this product before, but Filorga’s a great brand, so I have no doubt this will be lovely.

I found Givenchy’s Hydra Sparkling Instant Beauty Radiance Booster in the back of my cupboard, I’ve used it before but stopped when I started with the Chanel trio. I don’t think there’s loads left, but I’ll take it with me and see how far we can take it.
It’s to be used in the morning, after or instead of moisturiser. I wouldn’t used it instead of moisturiser, it seems a little too light for that.

Evening

Again, I’m taking a product that I’ve used before but put back in the cupboard when the Chanel trio entered my life. It’s the Indeed Labs Hydraluron Moisture Boosting Serum. Again, all about hyaluronic acid, this time in a serum. I really liked this, especially combined with Indeed Labs’ Hydraluron Moisture Jelly, which I sadly used up.

It comes in a reasonably sized tube, perfect to cram in my bag. I have no idea how much product is left, we’ll see, I guess.

The moisturiser I’m taking PM use is another Filorga product: Sleep Recover Anti-Fatigue Night Balm. It’s a also new product for me and again, packed with hyaluronic acid.

PM

Is it possible to overdose on hyaluronic acid? I’m about to find out. Most of the products also have “boost” in their name, I’m curious to see all that boosting and its results.

That’s the basic skincare routine, I’m adding a few mask samples, you never know how your skin will behave, so a little extra won’t hurt.

Masks

One of the new Caudalie Masks already made it into my In-flight Skincare bag, I’m adding 2 more to this bag.

Caudalie Masks

Once in a while, my skin will act up and I’ll have some redness and spots (always T-zone and chin: mostly hormonal or after some not very healthy meals, aka, junk food). The last times this happened, Boscia’s Cool Blue Calming Mask has really saved the day but I have to buy the full size now. So until then Caudalie’s Purifying Mask* and Instant Detox Mask* will have to help me or maybe convince me they’re even better!

That should do it, now onto make up…

See you next time!

P.S.: If you don’t feel like going through so many products to carefully choose what you’re packing… (How could you not, though?) Most brands sell travel sets, like the one from Cowshed I blogged about in this post.

One thought on “Get Packin’: Skincare

  1. Pingback: Get Packin': The Aftermath | Beauty... and the rest

Leave a Reply

