Current Cleansers

Playing with make up is great fun, but taking it off and treating your skin to a good cleanse can be just as good. Having said that… Cleansing is not just about removing make up, it’s also important to cleanse your bare face (in the morning or when you haven’t had any make up on)! I’ve really been enjoying my current cleansing routine, so I figured I’d share it with you.

Cleansers: AM & PM

Cleansing, such an underestimated step in our skin care routine. What’s the point of slapping on expensive serums, treatments and moisturizers if the skin isn’t clean? None.

There are various types of cleansers out there: lotions, milks, foams, oils, gels, balms,… Something for everyone, every need and every type of skin. Trial and error is the way to go, you have to find out what works for you and your skin. Your skin’s needs also change as the weather changes, or your hormones are acting up, so don’t be afraid to change it up along the way.

In the morning, I like something light and refreshing that’s not too time consuming. I just want a clean face, a bare canvas to apply my moisturizer and make up to within minutes. No fussiness here!

My current morning cleanser that ticks all the boxes above is the Soap and Glory The Ultimelt – Deep Purifying Hot Cloth Cleanser. I know, I said refreshing. I know, “melt” and “hot cloth” don’t sound refreshing at all, but hear me out…
One of the things about beauty products is that sometimes you have to forget about the directions and use a product how you like it or how it fits into your routine, which is what I did with this one.

The Ultimelt

I did start out using it as advised, by massaging the product onto face and neck for about 2 minutes and then pressing it off with a warm, wet cloth (one muslin cloth is included, by the way). It’s a lovely way to use it, but every minute is precious in the morning and I found that it took just a little too long. As a second cleanse in the evening, or a more elaborate cleanse in the weekend though: perfect! (But as you will see, I have another option for the second cleanse).

I cut down the massaging time (a minute) and instead of doing the spa-like pressing off with the hot cloth I simply splash some water onto my face (also to wake me up a bit) and press off any excess with a dry flannel. It’s not as instructed (naughty naughty) but it works perfectly fine for me.

I massage the product more thoroughly where my pores tends to clog up more (my chin, around my nose) and on my forehead and temples (so relaxing). But that’s different for everyone. I don’t like too much scrubbing on my face, especially in the morning and the Ultimelt is very gentle and refreshing: a perfect fit!

I bought my Ultimelt at Boots, but unfortunately Soap and Glory products can’t be shipped to Belgium… Boo!

The evening cleansing routine is more elaborate, we’re going from one product to three.

Evening Cleansers

I first remove my make up with Bioderma Micellar Water (available at pharmacies). I have yet to try any other micellar waters, but I’ve heard great things about the one from Mixa, which is now sold at Di, so I’ll have to check that one out soon.

I remove the make up off my face and give my eyes a quick swipe of Bioderma as well. You can also use this to completely remove your eye make up  but I still prefer the Clinique Take the Day Off Make Up Remover For Lids, Lashes and Lips, which I buy religiously at Ici Paris XL. It’s the only make up remover that will gently get rid off Benefit’s They’re Real mascara and Bourjois’ Rouge Edition Velvet Lacquers for me. I’ve tried to get by with Bioderma alone when my last Clinique bottle was empty but it just wasn’t the same, my eyes weren’t having it!

Now that the make up is off, it’s time for the real cleanse, the second cleanse. I’m not a fan of foamy cleansers, I prefer lotions, but more for the morning (you know, quick and fresh…). I was very intrigued by cleansing balms, and while I was in London I bought the highly rated Emma Hardie Moringa Cleansing Balm at Space NK (they sell jars twice as big as the one I bought now, wow).

Moringa Cleansing Balm

As I was using up some other cleansers it sat in my “to use” cupboard for a while and I was so happy when I finally got to try it.

The balm comes with a cloth as well, just like the Ultimelt, but this is no ordinary cloth, it’s magic. Well, to me anyway. But first, let’s talk about the balm.

It’s not as I expected, it’s a little grainy. I thought the balm would be soft, especially because I read that a lot of people found it great to remove eye make up. While I do appreciate the grainy texture for some scrubbin’ (which I usually don’t, but this texture is perfect), there is no way that I am using this on my sensitive eye area!

The way I use this balm is much like I’m supposed to use the Ultimelt (hey, I make up my own rules and directions, as should you).  I scoop (using a little plastic spoon that came with a Chanel moisturizer) some balm out of the jar (not the most practical packaging, I’ll admit), adding a tiny bit of water, and massage it onto my face and neck, focusing on my forehead, temples, chin and the area around my nose again. Sounds familiar, right?

Moringa Cleansing Balm - Scoop!
This is so incredibly satisfying after a long day, the product smells beautiful and this time I do take my time to massage it into my skin a little longer.

Time to bring in that cloth. What’s so special about it is that it’s double-sided. One side is muslin and the other is microfiber.

The muslin side gets some action first. I soak it in warm water, squeeze out the excess water and press it onto my skin. I lightly wipe my face with it and scrub a little on those “difficult” areas again (nose, chin, etc). I stay as far away as possible from my eyes with this side.

Next up, the supersoft microfiber side for the finishing touch. To remove the last bits of balm I use this side and also to remove those last traces of mascara that always pop up, even after a thorough eye make up removal. No more panda eyes here.

You can buy additional cloths, I bought some at Feelunique when there was a sale.

I’m really loving these four products right now. As you can tell from this post, the Ultimelt and Moringa Cleansing Balm are very similar in use (massaging, warm cloth), but not in texture. Because I prefer quick, fresh and light products in the morning and heavier, more luxurious and rich products in the evening it just works best for me this way.

The Ultimelt - Moringa Cleansing Balm

I take a similar approach to the rest of my skin care routine, but that’s for some other time, y’all!

I already have two other types of cleansers in my cupboard that are waiting to be used: a gel and an oil. So I think there will be a follow-up post, stay tuned!

P.S.: And my Clarisonic? I only use it once a week now, for some extra exfoliation. How I ever considered this to be a cleansing tool, I don’t know…

 

9 thoughts on “Current Cleansers

    • I’ve read great things about The Body Shop camomile cleansing oil, might try that some time… Definitely check out all S&G have to offer, I wish it was sold here!

  1. Gek dat je de EH met een textuur ervaart, bij mij is het echt een boterige olie balsem die volledig smelt als ik het aanraak.. Ik koop de grote pot altijd 😀

    • Ja, vond ik ook raar. Zeker omdat ik gelezen had dat het zo geweldig was voor eye make up, like what? I would never! Het is zeker niet scrubby ofzo, maar toch een licht korrelige textuur. Nevertheless, zeer aangenaam, maar niet wat ik verwacht had 🙂 is de 100ml bij mij denk ik.

  2. Pingback: Get Packin': Skincare | Beauty... and the rest

  3. Pingback: Make Up Removers: Part 1: Milk and Micellar Water | Beauty... and the rest

  4. Pingback: Make Up Removers Part 2: Gel and Oil | Beauty... and the rest

  5. Pingback: Get Packin': Skincare - Beautywander

  6. Pingback: Make Up Removers Part 2: Gel and Oil - Beautywander

Leave a Reply

