Milan Haul part 3: Dolce and Gabbana

This last part of my Milan haul is nothing compared to what I got from Kiko and Burberry, in terms of quantity that is. Let’s talk Dolce & Gabbana!

Dolce and Gabbana

Dolce and Gabbana

I’ve never been a fan of Dolce & Gabbana’s womenswear and accessories, too many embellishments for me. However, their menswear is on point and I adore their advertisements! Last season, they offered a very specific look, a beautiful mixture of Sicilian and Spanish influences. Just take a look at some of their ads here and here.

So why am I so in love with their advertisements? It could be Monica Bellucci, Claudia Schiffer or Bianca Balti… They sure add a certain je ne sais quoi to the visuals, but for me it’s all about another woman: Pat McGrath. She’s one of the world’s most influential make up artists and as Creative Design Director for Procter and Gamble Beauty she is responsible for Max Factor, Cover Girl and Dolce & Gabbana. Before that, she created Armani’s cosmetics line.

Back to Dolce & Gabbana! The looks Pat McGrath has created for Dolce & Gabbana ads and runway shows are simply breathtaking. Whether it’s a gorgeous nude look or that fierce red lip look, it’s always exactly right!

The look that got me all excited was the dark, bold lip look in their Spring/Summer 2015 runway show.

From that beautiful porcelain complexion to the fierce brows, the stunning winged liner and that dark lip… Perfection!

And because 2014 was the year of the bold lip for me, I was particularly obsessed with the lips!

So (and we’re finally getting to the haul!) when I walked into the Dolce & Gabbana beauty store, I knew exactly what I was looking for. Well, not exactly, I didn’t know what the exact shade was… But I had a vision in my mind and went for the Classic Cream Lipstick in 330 Amethyst. I know! It’s bold and dark and it’s not matte. So maybe 2015 will be the year of the bold, creamy lipstick for me?

Dolce & Gabbana Classic Cream Lipstick in 330 Amethyst

Dolce & Gabbana Classic Cream Lipstick in 330 Amethyst

330 Amethyst is a very deep berry shade, a real stunner! But, let’s be honest, if you’re not into statement lip looks just yet, this is not the one for you. It is slightly similar to my Tom Ford Bruised Plum, but this one is less shiny.

The sales associate (who actually looked like she just came off the Dolce & Gabbana runway) kindly gave me some fragrance samples as well: Velvet Desire and Velvet Rose. Definitely stop by this store when you’re in Milan (Corso Venezia), it’s lovely and they offer the whole range of fragrance, make up and skin care.

Dolce & Gabbana samples - sorry for the lack of quality here

Dolce & Gabbana samples – sorry for the lack of quality here

Back home I was curious to see what the actual lip colour was that was used for the runway look… Some Googling and YouTubing taught me Pat McGrath used 2 shades: 330 Amethyst (score!) and 650 Ultra.

As far as I know there are no Dolce & Gabbana Beauty stores, counters, whatsoever in Belgium but bol.com to the rescue!  They now sell luxury make up and Dolce & Gabbana is one of the brands in this category. There’s even a sale going on at the moment (-25%) but that might no longer be the case when this post goes live… At full price these sell for €31,99 on bol.com.

I just happened to have a coupon for bol.com lying around and I just couldn’t not buy Ultra. I ordered it and, true to their claims, it was delivered by bol.com the next day! I was really impressed with their service!

While Amethyst is more purple toned than red, Ultra is a real deep red shade.

Dolce & Gabbana Classic Cream Lipstick in Ultra

Dolce & Gabbana Classic Cream Lipstick in Ultra

I love ’em both!

Dolce & Gabbana Classic Cream Lipsticks in Ultra and Amethyst

Dolce & Gabbana Classic Cream Lipsticks in Ultra and Amethyst

Dolce and Gabbana family

Dolce and Gabbana family

I would love to get to know more of Dolce & Gabbana’s beauty products.
If someone out there can tell me why there doesn’t seem to be a lot of love in the blogosphere for these products, please enlighten me! Or if you have used any of their products, please let me know how you rate them.

Thank for stopping by!

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Milan Haul part 3: Dolce and Gabbana

Leave a Reply

