This was 2014

It’s 2015! Happy New Year! Time to take a look back at 2014.

Beauty

I’ve discovered loads of new beauty products, most of which have been talked about on the blog, so I will briefly revisit some blog posts.

2014 was the year of the bold lips for me. I bought lip products on both end of the budget spectrum to achieve the bold lip look. Yes, I invested in some Tom Ford and Dolce & Gabbana (post coming up!) but the Bourjois Rouge Edition Velvets are definitely one of 2014’s best  budget discoveries! I also got some NARS Velvet Matte Lip Pencils, for some reason I have not written a post about these yet, shame on me… Let’s not forget about the Sephora Cream Lip Stain either, great product for a great price.

Bold Lips

As far as specific types of products go, I didn’t really experiment with anything else, however, I do want to share some brands that have definitely made 2014 very exciting on the make up front!

Charlotte Tilbury seems to get it right with every product. I’ve only tried 3 products but I’m so impressed with the quality, textures, colour ranges,… They are also so easy to use, dreamy!

Maybe it’s because I have a thing for all things British, but the second brand that put its mark on my 2014 is Burberry. There will be a post coming about my Burberry haul soon! Needless to say, I’m loving Burberry and I want more. My Burberry is also my scent of 2014.

A little less expensive, but also a great brand with a huuuuge range of products: Kiko. I got some more goodies in Milan that I will be sharing with you soon.

When it comes to make up tools, I also got hooked on some great new stuff. The introduction of the make up sponge, my first Real Techniques brushes (more are on its way) and a beautiful Zoeva brush set have really made a big difference to my routine.

It’s also been the year of skin care for me. I started using my Clarisonic and focused on more than just moisturising. I bought loads of masks and cleansers and I have yet to try them all… As far as brands go in this category, Soap and Glory was definitely a great new one for me.

Music

Of course there was more than just beauty in my life in 2014, and when it comes to music 2014 was all about quality, not quantity.

My sister and I went to Justin Timberlake‘s 20/20 Experience and we had a blast!

Only one festival on my agenda in 2014: Pukkelpop. Queens of the Stone Age: amazing. But the surprise for me was Fink. Such a great performance, we already have tickets to see him again this year.

TV and Movies

Gone Girl was by far my favourite movie of the year, do keep in mind we rarely go to the cinema these days…

There has been a lot of Netflix in 2014. I have loved Doctor Who, I finally finished watching Gossip Girl and am now totally into Sons of Anarchy.

A TV and Music mash-up: Sonic Highways is all kinds of amazing!

Books

I shared some of my holiday reads with you and also enjoyed Joe Perry‘s Rocks: My Life In and Out of Aerosmith and Bossypants by Tina Fey.
Do I really need to express my love for Pretty Honest again? I think not.

2014 Books

Food

2014 was a great food year for my husband and I. Our dreams came true when we not only had lunch at The Fat Duck but were also invited to see the kitchen, I still need to pinch myself sometimes.

We also had the pleasure of going back to Vrijmoed, now with a Michelin star! Beautiful location in my hometown, lovely food, what more can you want?

The next one doesn’t have a Michelin star just yet, but I think that might change soon: Restaurant David Selen. If you want great dinner at a reasonable price, this is the place to be. They also have beautiful rooms to stay in, we haven’t done this yet, but I really want to!

And last but far from least… Travel

I’ve had a very nice variety of trips the past year, going back to London is always fun, Rome was as beautiful as it was a few years ago but I’ve also enjoyed my first All Inclusive holiday in Turkey, my first cruise and my first visit to Milan. Our trip to Phantasialand was a lot of fun, I think we might do something similar in 2015.

2014 was a great year and I can’t wait to see what 2015 has in store for all of us! Next week I will share what I’m looking forward to in the new year, see you then!

6 thoughts on “This was 2014

  1. leuk zo’n lijstje! leuk dat je naar een Justin Timberlake concert geweest bent 🙂 aanraders qua series zijn ook the Walking Dead, Supernatural & Sherlock ^^ als je die nog niet gezien hebt =)

  2. Hey Eva, your pile of bold lipsticks makes me a little jealous LOL Definitely blog about the ones you haven’t soon, so I know what to put on my wish list!

  3. Pingback: Looking forward to 2015 | Beauty... and the rest

  4. Pingback: Milan Haul part 3: Dolce and Gabbana | Beauty... and the rest

Leave a Reply

