London haul part 3: Superdrug and Boots

Even more drugstore purchases are coming your way today! My Zoella Beauty and Soap and Glory purchases deserved their own post, the rest of my Boots and Superdrug purchases are thrown onto a pile in this post.

Indeed Labs is a skin care brand that focuses on technological advances that should result in HD ready skin.

Indeed Labs - Hydraluron Moisture Jelly and Ultimate Moisture Boosting Serum

Indeed Labs – Hydraluron Moisture Jelly and Ultimate Moisture Boosting Serum

I think their most known product is the Hydraluron Moisture Jelly, which I, of course, had to buy.

Indeed Labs - Hydraluron Moisture Jelly

Indeed Labs – Hydraluron Moisture Jelly

Described by Indeed Labs as a jelly with a lightweight feel, yet heavily moisturising it sounds like a great product for those of us that desperately need moisture but hate the feeling of rich, thick creams. It can be used both AM and PM, by all skin types.
The jelly has 5 key active ingredients, the most (in)famous one being hyaluronic acid. Acid… it sounds incredibly scary, especially when we’re talking about products that you are meant to put on your face! Have no fear, though, hyaluronic acid is naturally present in our bodies. If you want to know more about (hyaluronic) acids, I warmly recommend Caroline Hirons’ blog (yet again, I know) and Sali HughesPretty Honest (which I will definitely talk more about at a later time, it’s amazing!). If you want the short version: if you’re looking for plump, supple and fresh looking skin (don’t we all?) this is you buddy.

Indeed Labs - Hydraluron Moisture Jelly

Indeed Labs – Hydraluron Moisture Jelly

The packaging is sheer genius. It comes in a jar. I hear ya “ugh, a jar, so inconvenient and not hygienic at all!” and I agree. But once you remove the lid, the jar shows its best feature…

Indeed Labs - Hydraluron Moisture Jelly

Indeed Labs – Hydraluron Moisture Jelly

You just pump the top and the jelly comes out, love that. Now, it’s clever but don’t go all crazy with this little bit of genius, you just need a pea sized amount of jelly!

£24,99

More concentrated than the Moisture Jelly, the Hydraluron Ultimate Moisture Boosting Serum can give that extra moisture you might need, also on a daily basis.

Indeed Labs - Hydraluron Ultimate Moisture Boosting Serum

Indeed Labs – Hydraluron Ultimate Moisture Boosting Serum

Apply this serum before the Moisture Jelly (or any other moisturizer of your choice of course!) morning and evening to achieve even better results.

Indeed Labs - Hydraluron Ultimate Moisture Boosting Serum

Indeed Labs – Hydraluron Ultimate Moisture Boosting Serum

First impression? I took the Serum and Jelly with me on my most recent trip (blog post coming soon…ish) and I like it. My skin feels and looks more plump (love that word). Because I was on a trip I used it both AM and PM (less products to pack in the suitcase) but now that I’m back home I’m only using it in the morning because I do appreciate a richer cream in the evening. I prefer the light jelly texture in the morning when you know you’ll be layering on more products with make up. I like my evening products to be a bit more indulgent and rich.

£24,99

There’s also a third product in this range… To get even more of a moisture kick (Winter Is Coming!), the Indeed Labs Hydraluron Moisture Boosting Mask can provide just that.
An amped up version of the Moisture Jelly, the sheet mask can be used (bi-)weekly by placing it on the (cleansed and dry) face and letting it in sink in for 15 minutes. After that, you gently massage any remaining serum into your skin. Finish your moisture boosting procedure with moisturizer.

First impression? I regret not buying it!

£19,99 for a box of 4 sheet masks

Skin care has been covered now, how ’bout some make up?

One of the most used tips to make your eyes look brighter and to make you look more awake is to use a white eyeliner (pencil) on your waterline. It instantly brightens and opens up your eyes, it’s a great trick. But white can be too white sometimes. When playing with tricks or trompe -l’oeuils like this one, it’s crucial that the result is subtle. You want people to see the end result  and not the trick itself, as is the case with things like contouring. So adding a Nude shade to their range of Scandeleyes Waterproof Kohl Kajal was a pretty smart move by Rimmel.

Rimmel Scandaleyes Waterproof Kohl Kajal

Rimmel Scandaleyes Waterproof Kohl Kajal

First impression? The brightening effect I’m looking for (and I’m probably not the only one) is so much more natural with this nude shade than any white eyeliner.
I only have one issue with it. If I apply it too quickly and rushed (my fault, I know) it tends to get on the roots of my lower lashes and clumps there because it’s quite creamy. That creaminess is a great feature of this product when using one of their darker shades as an actual eyeliner. However, nude bits of crayon on your lashes is not a good look, so to avoid this: apply with caution, to the waterline only, and try to stay away from your lashes.

£3,99

Let’s move on to nails!

Sally Hansen Instant Cuticle Remover and Tanya Burr Nail Polish in Little Duck

Sally Hansen Instant Cuticle Remover and Tanya Burr Nail Polish in Little Duck

I already have too many shades of nail polish that are barely used, and not enough patience to paint my nails as often as I should, so I try to stay away from nail polish. But sometimes you see a shade that’s unlike any other shade you already own… That’s when you add another one to the collection. Tanya Burr’s Nail Polish in Little Duck was just that for me.

Tanya Burr Nail Polish - Little Duck

Tanya Burr Nail Polish – Little Duck

I love blue nail polish, the dark navy kind. It’s a stylish and modern alternative to true black nails, which can be a little too gothic for pale girls like me. But a light and greenish blue like Little Duck? Very much out of my comfort zone! Why I was drawn to it, I have no idea. Maybe because it resembles that beautiful Tiffany Blue?

First impression? The polish was easily applied: a bit streaky on the first layer, but it evened out nicely with the second one. I will say I used a crappy base and top coat, that probably should have been binned already (it is now), when I used it for the first time so as far as chipping goes, my first impression is probably not accurate.

Tanya Burr Nail Polish in Little Duck

Tanya Burr Nail Polish in Little Duck

I removed it after 3 days, not because it was chipping (there was some slight chipping but nothing obvious to anyone but me), but because it was a little too colorful and bright for me. It’s very cute and pretty but at work, and during Autumn, it just didn’t feel right. So at the first sight of a teeny tiny chip, I had an “excuse” to remove it (the blogger in me just had to keep it on as long as possible to test the lasting time).
I will definitely pick it up again during Spring and Summer, preferably on vacation. This is a very personal issue I have with the product and it should by no means keep anyone from buying it. If you want to rock this shade: please do, it’s gorgeous! It’s just a little too much out of my comfort zone to wear it while I’m at work so this will be my Official Summer Holiday Shade.

£5,99

I’ve already confessed to a lack of patience for regular at-home mani sessions: it always results in imperfections because I just cannot wait until my nails are completely dry to move onto other activities that require use of my hands.
Another reason why I neglect to do my nails myself is because of my cuticles. Beautifully polished nails are nice but when your cuticles are a mess, all the pretty polish in the world won’t be enough to distract you from the mess. So in my very humble opinion, cuticle care is a crucial step when doing a manicure.
I’ve used cuticle oils (by Hema and Ciaté) that are supposed to soften your cuticles so they can be pushed back with a wood or plastic (or metal, which I’ve never tried myself) stick. I never got the results I wanted and since cutting them is a task that, again in my very humble opinion, should only be done by the pro’s (it’s not even a must, pushing the cuticles back should be enough) I needed another solution.

Sally Hansen‘s Instant Cuticle Remover might be it!

Sally Hansen Instant Cuticle Remover

Sally Hansen Instant Cuticle Remover

This is not an oil, it’s a gel and I think that makes a huge difference. Random information: you can also use this on calluses, but that’s not what I bought it for. I bought it to solve my cuticle problems!

First impression? This gel not only softens your cuticles, so they can be pushed back like when using an oil, it actually breaks them down so you can simply remove them.
But how? I apply the gel (the packaging makes it very easy to apply the right amount) to the “base” of every nail and then gently push back and “scrape” (by lack of a better word, but it sounds too harsh…) the cuticles.
The gel takes about 15 seconds to do its magic, so by the time you’ve applied it to your last finger you can get started with the actual cuticle removal.
I then use a wood stick to softly push the cuticles back and remove any visible flakes of skin by gently scraping with the stick. I say visible because I just finish what the gel has already started. I don’t start scraping them like crazy to remove more more more! Any excess gel is removed with a tissue and quick wash of the hands and voilà, ready for nail polish!
I’m very impressed with the results and definitely recommend this product for at-home mani’s.

£6,45 (the product in the link looks different but I think it’s actually the same…)

The final drugstore purchase … Dry shampoo! No Colab Dry Shampoo (see why here) but Batiste.

Batiste - Original: Clean and Classic (50 ml and 400 ml) & Medium and Brunette (200 ml)

Batiste – Original: Clean and Classic (50 ml and 400 ml) & Medium and Brunette (200 ml)

Batiste has an enormous range of dry shampoo: scented, volumising, colored,… You name it, they sell it!
That being said, I went basic. I got the Original Clean and Classic dry shampoo (both travel size and supersize!) and the Medium and Brunette dry shampoo.

First impression? I’ve tried both and really liked them. They do exactly what I expect them to: give me an extra day without washing my hair. I wouldn’t buy the Medium and Brunette again, the results were not that different from the “regular” one and I wasn’t crazy about the smell. But yeah, big thumbs up: no powder residue and fresh looking hair!

£1,49 /£4,99 / £3,99

That’s it for the drugstore purchases, I got some good stuff! Next week we’re taking it up a notch… See you then!

6 thoughts on “London haul part 3: Superdrug and Boots

  1. Pingback: Get Packin': Skincare | Beauty... and the rest

  2. Pingback: Get Packin': Skincare - Beautywander

Leave a Reply

