USA haul part 2: skin care and hair care

Ready for the third and final installment of my USA haul? I started with the wish list, last week I talked about the make up and now it’s all about skin and hair care.

USA haul part 2: skin care and hair care

USA haul part 2: skin care and hair care

I’ve mentioned before that I’m slowly giving my skin care routine a make over so some new products are making their way in. Not all at once, because an extreme make over of the routine would not give me a clear view of what is helping my skin. So I’m changing it up one product/step at a time. This also means that I won’t be sharing many first impressions today, simply because most products are still untouched. Of course, I will keep you posted.

So here are the products that I’m counting on to do the best for my skin.

It all starts with clean skin , so a good cleanser is a must. Nude Skincare‘s Perfect Cleanse Omega Cleansing Jelly (that’s a loooong name, people) seems to be a favorite among bloggers so I got this one. According to their website, once applied with some water the gel transforms to a milk that removes all dirt, impurities and make up, both from face and eyes.

Nude Skincare Perfect Cleanse Omega Cleansing Jelly

Nude Skincare Perfect Cleanse Omega Cleansing Jelly

Nude Skincare is all about natural, healthy ingredients, which is obviously something people are looking for these days. The balance between products that are as natural as possible yet also highly effective is not easy to achieve, so I can’t wait to see if Bryan Meehan and Ali Hewson (yes, Bono’s wife!) have found that balance! $38,00 at Sephora.

Nude Skincare Perfect Cleanse Omega Cleansing Jelly

Nude Skincare Perfect Cleanse Omega Cleansing Jelly


First impression? I haven’t tried this one yet.

After cleansing it’s time for some toning action. This is a step in the skin care routine that is talked about a lot and is shrouded in mystery and myth.
Years ago we were told that this step, between cleansing and moisturising, removed any make up that the cleanser hadn’t removed. Toning is not an extra cleansing step, it’s the step that prepares your clean skin for hydration. If you want any more info on toners (skin care in general for that matter), please take some time to read Caroline Hirons’ blog. She is passionate about skin care and is on a mission to debunk its many myths!

So… the product of choice were the First Aid Beauty  (aka FAB) Facial Radiance Pads. Yes, great for lazy people, you don’t even have to soak the cotton pad yourself!

First Aid Beauty Facial Radiance Pads

First Aid Beauty Facial Radiance Pads

These pads brighten and lightly exfoliate the skin, I say lightly because you can use these on a daily basis. Exfoliation can invoke images of harsh treatments with coarse products, this is not the case with these pads. Even people with sensitive skin should be able to benefit from this product. Once again, we are talking all natural ingredients, no parabens here. $30,00 at Sephora for 60 pads, you can also get the travel friendly version with 28 pads for $14,00.

First impression? I started my routine make over with this product. I use it in my morning skin care routine and have been doing so for about 3 weeks. After changing only one product I’m already noticing a difference. My skin looks brighter and I haven’t had many break outs since I started using these.
I really enjoy using this product, it’s so easy that it’s all in the pads already, there are no “I don’t have the time” excuses with these!

The products above are for daily use, the next ones are more along the pampering lines.

Lip care is essential, especially if you want to hop on the bold, matte lip bandwagon, like me. As you can read in my lip care post you can use scrubs to exfoliate your lips. The weather has changed a lot the last few days and the colder temperatures are not kind to our skin and lips, so chapped and dry lips will be making an appearance again. Exfoliate your lips with a scrub to get rid of the dead skin and get your lips ready for a lip balm and then some color! There are many posts online to make your own home-made scrub, but I decided to go the lazy route (do you sense a theme here?) and buy the Fresh Sugar Lip Polish.
Fresh says it can be used 2-3 times a week, depending on your needs of course. $22,50 at Sephora.

Fresh Sugar Lip Polish

Fresh Sugar Lip Polish

First impression? I’ve been using this once a week (that would be 3 times up until now), as part of my more elaborate weekend routine (aka pampering routine). I haven’t been having problems with my lips lately, but when I do I’ll probably be using it 2 times a week.

Fresh Sugar Lip Polish

Fresh Sugar Lip Polish

I like it, it does what it says on the (very cute) tin. This product actually looks like it would if you were to make your own scrub, using brown sugar. Is that a bad thing? Definitely not, but that does make this a bit of a splurge product for me, if you only need this a few weeks a year, you might just want to make your own, if you’re into that.

Fresh Sugar Lip Polish

Fresh Sugar Lip Polish

That being said… You really don’t need a lot of product, so it goes a very long way!

Next up: some masks. I love masks, I said it before, it feels lovely and indulgent, to me they are the ultimate pampering product. But I’m just getting started with masks, so what better way then with a little sampler set? I have always been intrigued by Boscia‘s black mask, it just looks really cool. On the Sephora website I saw several Boscia sets and ultimately I decided to buy the Multi Masking Medley.

Boscia Multi Masking Medley

Boscia Multi Masking Medley

You get 4 sachets, each offering a single use (10 g), of the following masks: Luminizing Black Mask (purifying)Bright White Mask (brightening), Cool Blue Calming Mask (calming) and Green Tea Oil-Control Mask (mattifying). So these probably cover the whole spectrum of “skin needs”! All these masks are peel-off masks, which you probably love or hate. For me, it adds to the appeael (see what I did there…) of the whole ritual. $18,00 at Sephora, for $42,00 you can get the Art of Multi Masking Kit, which is basically the same concept, but instead of the (sample like) single use sachets, you get double the amount in tubes and you get a brush.

Boscia Multi Masking Medley

Boscia Multi Masking Medley

First impression? How could I not start off my mask adventure with the infamous black one? The Luminizing Black mask promises to remove impurities and reduce the visibility of pores. It should result in healthy, glowing skin.
To dry skin, you apply the mask in a thick, even layer and leave on for 30 minutes. It comes with clear instructions on which areas to avoid (eyes/eyebrows, hairline and lips) when applying the mask. After 30 minutes you can peel it off from the outer edges and rinse off any left over product.
Since it’s a single use portion, I applied the whole amount and this was too much. Not so much a problem during application, but it added some difficulty for the peel off process. The areas where there was too much product didn’t have enough time to dry and didn’t really peel off nicely. Beginner’s mistake!
My skin did feel purified, but one use can only say so much… So I’m putting this on hold for a while.
I’ll try the others masks when I feel like my skin needs what they are promising.

Let’s move onto hair care now.
I feel like I’m always disappointed in hair products, am I too demanding or simply buying the wrong ones? No idea, but the never ending search for products that give me smooth, glossy hair is starting to annoy me!

Living Proof has Jennifer Aniston on board as co-owner and spokesperson and if there is 1 celebrity out there that can sell me a hair product, it’s her (and Gisèle Bundchen, but let’s be honest, La Bundchen could even sell me a paper bag). I feel like I’m on endless repeat here, but I got myself a set, surprise surprise! There is just no better way to start out with a new brand, in my opinion. They actually offer plenty of sets, depending on your needs, I got the Perfect Hair Day (PhD) Travel Kit.

Living Proof Perfect Hair Day Travel Kit and Satin Hair Serum

Living Proof Perfect Hair Day Travel Kit and Satin Hair Serum

It contains travel size versions of all 3 products in the PhD regimen: PhD Shampoo, PhD Conditioner and PhD 5 in 1 Styling Treatment. The 5 in 1 means: smoothing, conditioning, strengthening, polishing and volumizing all in one single product, now that’s a big claim…
There’s also a little extra product: a packet of Style Extender: bonus! $29,00 at Sephora.

Living Proof Perfect Hair Day travel Kit and Satin Hair Serum

Living Proof Perfect Hair Day travel Kit and Satin Hair Serum

First impression? I haven’t used this kit yet, I will be taking it with me on a trip in November, so watch this space, folks.

Another Living Proof product to end this post: the Satin Hair Serum. This serum (no oils, no silicone!) should add shine and softness to my hair. I really hope this can make my hair smoother without making it look greasy! $29,00 at Sephora.

First impression? The bottle is pretty … and pretty full, I haven’t used this yet!

If you made it all the way here… Thank you! Next week I’m taking you to London.

 

2 thoughts on “USA haul part 2: skin care and hair care

Leave a Reply

