USA haul part 1: make up

A few weeks ago I shared my USA wish list with you and now the goods have safely made it across the Atlantic so it’s time for a haul post! I will be covering the make up today and the skin care and hair care next week. Without further ado, here’s the first part with some first impressions!

USA make up haul

USA make up haul

Let’s get started with concealer.

NARS Creamy Radiant Concealer - Vanilla

NARS Creamy Radiant Concealer – Vanilla

NARS Radiant Creamy Concealer is one of the most used/talked about concealers and since I have yet to find a mind-blowing concealer, I thought I’d give it a try. I got it in the shade Vanilla. $29,00 at Nordstrom.

NARS Creamy Radiant Concealer - Vanilla

NARS Creamy Radiant Concealer – Vanilla

First impression? I haven’t tried it as an undereye concealer yet, only to conceal blemishes. I like the texture, it’s not too liquid or too dense. It works fine for now, but I’m not in love just yet.

Tarte is one of those brands that is very hard to find in Europe. So I was glad to be able to get one of their Amazonian Clay 12 hour blushes. I chose the shade Blissful. $26,00 at Sephora.

IMG_20141005_124844

Tarte Amazonian Clay 12 hour blush

First impression? It looks gorgeous and I love the fine texture, but I think it’s a tad too pink for me, I thought it would be more peach than pink. But that is my own fault of course, shopping without seeing it in person…, maybe it will work better for me in the spring and summer.

Next up: Anastasia Beverly HillsBrow Wiz in Soft Brown. Was $21,00 at Nordstrom, 10% off now!

IMG_20141005_124445

Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Wiz

First impression? Wow. Seriously… wow. This is amazing, it’s all you could want for your brows. I thought it would be time-consuming, because the nib is tiny, but actually, even in a rush this works really well. It’s so very natural, I adore it! You can give your brows som quick definition or really precisely enhance then, depending on how much time, and patience, you have. Major thumbs up.

IMG_20141005_124544

Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Wiz

Some products for the eyes… I love a good value set and any set that comes with They’re Real! mascara is a good one, especially paired with its eyeliner buddy. So this Benefit The Real Steal set is perfect!

Benefit The Real Steal

Benefit The Real Steal

The 3 products (mascara, liner and remover all from the They’re Real range) are not full size, but I like that, especially not knowing if the liner would work for me. $24,00 at Sephora.

Benefit The Real Steal

Benefit The Real Steal

First impression? I think I’ve shown the mascara loads of love already (read about it here!), so that’s been covered.
I had very high hopes and expectations for the liner. I struggle with liquid liner and gel liner, so anything to help is welcome! I’ve only tried it once but I liked it. I didn’t have to remove and restart my winged effort, so that’s a good sign. The product doesn’t come out as neatly and smoothly as I would have liked, but it definitely helps to shape the winged liner. I did finish with some Lancôme Artliner for more intensity. Maybe practice really will make perfect with this liner?
You would think that a special remover that comes with a notoriously hard to remove mascara and liner would be top-notch, but I was really disappointed with this one. Clinique Take The Day Off  Make Up Remover (for lids, lashes and lips) saved the day here, because besides giving me a good panda eye, this remover wasn’t doing anything for me.

Benefit They're Real Steal

Benefit The Real Steal

Now for some nail stuff. Once again, a set… Formula X offers all the basics plus one color of choice in The System$32,00 at Sephora.

Formula X The System

Formula X The System

You get a cleanser, base coat, top coat and one color. So basically everything you could need, and there are a looooooot of colors and finishes to choose from, good luck with that…

 

Formula X The System

Formula X The System

As you can see I got a light grey shade, a grey with a hint of light blue (the second picture is a little deceiving, it is not a warm taupe at all): Extraordinary.

Formula X Extraordinary

Formula X Extraordinary

First impression? I just used it for the first time so I can’t comment on its longevity yet. I can however tell you about the application, which didn’t go very smoothly. I am not a nail polish expert, so I always struggle a bit with new ones, but I actually had to restart 2 nails! After the first coat I got a little scared because it was very streaky. The second coat saved the day and the finish is smooth and glossy *insert sigh of relief here*.

 

Extraordinary - My Instagram

Extraordinary – My Instagram

The color is very new for me, I usually don’t wear light, cool colors like these on my nails, but I’m getting used to it.

Lastly, the infamous Sephora Cream Lip Stain in Always Red (01), which is $13,00.

Sephora Cream Lip Stain in Always Red

Sephora Cream Lip Stain in Always Red

First impression? This does exactly what you would expect from it: it’s a matte bright, vibrant true red that does not budge. I thought the Bourjois Rouge Edition Velvets were hard to remove, but this one is even worse/better depending on how you look at it, of course. On its own it looks a little drying on me, but I’ve discovered I love it as a base for my red Nars Velvet Lip Pencils. Great stuff!

And there you have it, part 1 of the USA haul my husband so kindly brought home. I think I should also thank whoever helped him at Nordstrom and Sephora, they did great.

I’ll see you back here next week for part 2: skin care and hair care!

P.S.: No, I didn’t forget anything, the LORAC Pro Palettes were on the list, but they didn’t have them…

UPDATE 01/11/2014: The Formula X nail polish is so long lasting, I still can’t believe it! I actually got 8 days of chipfree wear out of it, and to be honest… I only had to take it off because on one nail (one!) it started to chip/crack. And to be even more honest, it was obviously due to my lack of expertise as the 2 coats of polish were not applied very evenly. I think I would easily have gotten at least 10 days out of it if I just had the patience to apply nail polish properly.
I will definitely be buying more of these when the opportunity arises.

5 thoughts on “USA haul part 1: make up

  1. Pingback: USA haul part 2: skin care and hair care | Beauty... and the rest

  2. Pingback: This was 2014 | Beauty... and the rest

  3. Pingback: USA haul part 2: skin care and hair care - Beautywander

Leave a Reply

