After the hauls… Some first impressions.

My last few weeks could be described by Amelia’s hashtag: #feelingspendy. Some repurchases and some new products. A few of these have been put to the test so I thought I’d share my first impressions.

My first haul at Ici Paris XL consisted of several back ups but the Tweezerman Brow Trimming Scissors and Brush and Dior Contour Lip Liner were new to me.

The Tweezerman Brow Trimming Scissors and Brush gets the thumbs up. The scissors are perfectly shaped, unless you’re reenacting Edward Scissorhands you really can’t do anything wrong with these. If you have long eyebrow hairs like me, this tool is just what you need to give your brows that polished look. Just add some Gimme Brow and you’re good to go!

I wish I could give the Dior Contour Lip Liner good marks as well, but for now I’m quite disappointed. I bought the shade Thrilling Plum (943) to go with my Tom Ford Lipstick in Bruised Plum and the colour is a great match, no complaints there.
I do have a problem with the texture… Pencils, for eyes and lips, should be creamy and glide on effortlessly (tugging is a huge no-no, right?!) and it’s anything but creamy.  After application the pencil had left some little “dots” on my lips, very annoying. Just a first impression of course, I will give it another try later.

The sample of Dior Addict It-Lash mascara pleasantly surprised me, some competition for Benefit’s They’re Real!

The products I bought at Liberty require some more testing, I’m liking the Nars Lip Pencils so far, and the Hourglass Ambient Lighting Palette as well. The Beautyblender has been tried and tested thoroughly, read about it here.

The Zoeva brushes I bought during my latest shopping spree have been reviewed here (spoiler alert: love!).

I’ve also tried the Bumble and Bumble Hairdresser’s Invisible Oil and, if I work on my hair product application skills a bit, this could be a winner.
I’m so bad with hair products, I just don’t have the habit of spending a lot of time on my hair (besides shampoo and conditioner that is) but I definitely want to make an effort! I think I applied too much on some areas and not enough (none) on others, but I could totally see the smoothing effect. I will work on it, promise..

The Lush Cupcake Fresh Face Mask is really nice, I love masks, they make me feel like such a pro when I apply them. I can’t say that I see a huge difference already, but definitely no changes for the worse either. I might feel like a pro when applying masks but an expert I am not, so I can’t compare to many other masks. This is really something I want to look into and try more of.

Skincare and hair care are on my “routines to be tweaked”-list, so these are a work in progress and I’m trying different products to see what I like and what works for me.

Last of the first impressions… Kiehl’s Crème de Corps. As I said in the haul-post, Kiehl’s products have a habit of disappointing me after a great first impression… Once again, great first impression! I really like the texture of this body lotion, very luscious and quite thick and heavy without being too sticky. This is not a light, milky body lotion, but I quite like it, especially for my dry legs. We’ll see how long it can keep up the good work.

I have quite a few other products that I’m trying (my new YSL foundation, the Nars Lip Pencils,…), I’ll write something about these some other time.

Thanks for reading!

 

Leave a Reply

