Even more shopping… Ghent edition

So obviously my words “I’m done shopping” were so far from the truth that the truth was just a small dot on the horizon…

 

IMG_20140810_124641

 

I planned to spend some of my Saturday shopping in Ghent, my beautiful hometown. I wanted to check out some of my favourite spots for beauty-shopping and was looking for the Pixi Glow Tonic. If it’s good enough for Caroline Hirons, it’s good enough for me!

So my first stop of the day was Beautyqueen, and just the day before they posted the awesome news on their Facebook and Instagram that they were now selling Zoeva brushes. I could not get there fast enough! Unfortunately, the Pixi Glow Tonic was sold out, but next time it shall be mine…

Time to move on to the Zoeva brushes: they had a whole range of individual brushes and the Classic Brush Set. I really really really want the Rose Golden Luxury Set, but this was not (yet?) available. My curiosity got the best of me anyway and I did purchase the Classic Brush Set. I have not tried the brushes yet, but they look really nice, and that clutch? Amazing! It’s big enough to carry the whole set, and even more. It’s such good quality, I’m very impressed with this.

Another brand that is very well represented at Beautyqueen is Bumble and Bumble. I’ve read great things about their Hairdresser’s Invisible Oil range and bought the Oil. I’m not looking for a new shampoo and conditioner at the moment and since I rarely expose my hair to any heat/tools/… the Primer wasn’t the product for me either. The oil should make your hair smooth and shiny without making it greasy, so I’ll have to try and see how it works. I was also lucky enough to receive some samples from the shampoo and conditioner, great service as always!

Next up was Hema, they have some great storage items for make up and let’s just say that I am working on a much-needed reorganisation of my make up area, so these beauty organizers were perfect for me.

Lush Cosmetics is a brand that is new to me, I had heard about it but never actually went into the store. I decided to give it a go and told the sales associate it was my first visit and that I wanted to try one of their masks and a typical Lush product like their Bath Bombs. She was really nice and told me all about their brand and products. After careful deliberation (and a lot of smelling and sniffing) I decided to get the Cupcake Fresh Face Mask. It’s like chocolate mousse, but for the face. How can anyone not love this?!

In the bath and bubbles department I really couldn’t choose and took the easy way out: I bought a beautifully wrapped gift for myself. I got the Blooming Beautiful giftset. Relaxation, here I come!

Once again, I was kindly offered a sample and I got a bit of shampoo to try.

Kiehl’s was my next place to be because I had some empties to drop off and I got an email saying it was my Kiehl’s birthday and they offered a gift! I was also in need of a new body lotion and wanted to try their Crème de Corps. I’m a bit on the fence about Kiehl’s… I love their concept and their stores. Their sales associates are very helpful and nice and they are firm believers in “try before you buy”, hence all the samples they give. But as much as I want to love their products, they just don’t seem to work for me for longer periods of time. I always love the samples but then the full size products leaves me underwhelmed after a while. That’s why I got the smallest bottle (125 ml) of Crème de Corps they had…
The birthday gift was a 250 ml bottle of Bath and Shower Liquid Body Cleanser (Coriander). I am not giving up on Kiehl’s!

My final destination was Fin du Jour, the latest addition to Ghent’s beauty scene. They sell brands like Aesop, Ellis Faas, Perricone MD, Rahua,.. The store is beautiful: understated luxury at its best. The brand I’m most curious about is Perricone MD. I have to admit that by the time I got here I felt like I had already spent enough money so I didn’t get anything yet, but I will definitely come back here.

I adore travelling to other cities (London is always on my mind) but strolling around Ghent confirmed once again that I am so lucky I can call this my hometown. I love Ghent!

7 thoughts on “Even more shopping… Ghent edition

  1. Pingback: Zoeva Cosmetics Brushes (and my rose gold obsession) | Beauty... and the rest

  2. I love Ghent for beauty shopping! With MAC in between all those must-visit addresses, it’s an amazing city. And you should definitely go back to Fin Du Jour, my tip is to explore some of Aesop’s stuff, it’s an amazing brand! 🙂

  3. Pingback: After the hauls… Some first impressions. | Beauty... and the rest

  4. Pingback: Zoeva Cosmetics Brushes (and my rose gold obsession) - Beautywander

Leave a Reply

