Benefit Cosmetics

When I think of Benefit Cosmetics, I think of bold, beautiful brows! Their Brow Bars are famous for amazing results in waxing and tinting. (I have only tried the waxing and it was perfect.) Their brow mapping technique results in the perfect brow shape for your face, because as we all know, we are all unique and not everyone can pull off any brow shape.

Brows frame your face and well groomed brows can make such a huge difference in your appearance. When you want to use a minimal amount of make up, my list would be: any product to fill in your brows and keep them in place, mascara and lip gloss. This “holy trinity” can do so much without having to spend hours in front of the mirror.

You immediately feel at ease when you get your brows done at a Brow Bar, because the people who work there all have perfect brows! I’m very picky about my brows, and am 100% confident in their brow expertise.

Benefit Cosmetics also sells a whole range of products to perfect your brow game. I first started using Brow Zings, a kit with wax, powder, brushes and tweezers. So, pretty much the full package. I never really got the hang of using my Brow Zings, somehow it just didn’t work for me and I always went back to using my eyebrow pencil and a clear gel.
The last time I got my brows done they used Gimme Brow and I was so impressed I promptly bought it and have used it almost everyday since. It gives you fuller brows and keeps them in place!
For that perfect brow finish, I also bought High Brow (the regular one). It’s a highlighting pencil to apply on the arch under (and above for even more effect) your brow. It comes in 2 “shades”: regular and glow.

Of course, Benefit Cosmetics is more than “just” brows (I cannot overemphasize the importance of brows!) and they offer many, cutely packaged and named, make up and skincare products.

I can’t say much (well anything) about the skincare products, I have a sample of It’s Potent eye cream which is waiting for me to use when I run out of my Kiehl’s Midnight Recovery Eye.

I have tried some of their make up. Back in September, during our Eastcoast USA trip, I got the cutest set at Sephora in Georgetown: Gettin’ Cheeky.

DSC01745

It includes minis of Cha Cha Tint, Sunbeam and Posie Tint, all 3 liquid products but both Cha Cha Tint and Posie Tint can be used on cheeks and lips. Yay for versatility!
Sunbeam is a bronze highlighter, perfect to add a sun kissed glow to your complexion.
Cha Cha Tint is a coral shade and Posie Tint is warm pink. In the same “family” of products, they also offer Benetint (lip and cheek stain), Lollitint (lip and cheek stain in candy pink) and High Beam (highlighter). Apparently there is/was also a Feelin’ Cheeky set with minis of Posie Tint, High Beam and Benetint.

I love minis like these because it allows me to try before committing to a full size product. Benefit Cosmetics must have some telepathic connection with me because they sell deluxe samples of some of these!

I really like these products for sun filled days when I don’t feel like putting a lot of products (especially powders) on my face. They just blend in nicely and give a subtle glow. Do I use them on my lips? Nope, I think they’re a little to sticky. Once again, Benefit Cosmetics must have found out about my thoughts on these because they turned Posie, Bene, Lolli and Cha Cha into hydrating lip balms, awesome!

Next time I got me some Benefit was back in Belgium ( sold at 3 Galeria Inno locations: 2 in Brussels and 1 in Antwerp): after my brow appointment and the purchase of Gimme Brow and High Brow (as mentioned above) I also got another set (the sets and their contents seems to vary, check out the website fore more info).

DSC01741

 

Sunbeam mini makes another appearance, alongside They’re Real! mascara, CORALista lipgloss and the POREfessional.

They’re Real! has quickly become my holy grail mascara, and I have tried loads… It gives me long, full, non clumpy lashes unlike any other mascara has before. Yes, people, I love love love this one!

CORALista is a sheer lip gloss: nothing more, nothing less. The shades of these lip glosses (like Dandelion, Hoola,…) can also be found in some of their blushes and bronzers. It’s really cool that they use certain shades of successful products for new products (blush-lip gloss, cheek stain-lip balm) , that way you can buy several products in a shade perfect for you!

The POREfessional is a pore minimizer that can be used over, under or without make up. The texture is silky smooth and it does the job for me. I just apply it on my problem areas but this really is a product that caters to anyone’s needs when it comes to amount/place to apply/…

I can’t say I have used a Benefit product that I haven’t liked, but I can say some of them have made it straight to my daily routine: Gimme Brow and They’re real!

Here are some products I will check out soon: Fakeup (hydrating concealer: I always have issues with concealers that seem to dry out my skin), a blush (can’t decide on which one just yet), High Beam and the highly anticipated They’re Real! Push-Up liner.
I may have already said I’m not the best liquid liner applier but I adore a good flick of jet black liner… They must have read my mind again because Benefit will be launching a “lash hugging” liner soon. It has an angled flexible tip out of which comes the product after a twist of the base. It seems they have merged the best of the “stamping” technique and classic lining. I must say I am very intrigued and will definitely try this.

If you’re new to the brand you should check out their sets, they’re a great way to sample different products and shades.

I am a fan!

4 thoughts on “Benefit Cosmetics

  1. Pingback: 6 months… Time to fill up the Wall of Fave | Beauty... and the rest

  2. Pingback: USA haul part 1: make up | Beauty... and the rest

  3. Pingback: Anastasia Beverly Hills @ Beautyqueen | Beauty... and the rest

  4. Pingback: USA haul part 1: make up - Beautywander

Leave a Reply

