Vacation prep: nails, waxing, facial treatment

Before leaving for a trip I always love to go in for some treatments. Since we’re leaving soon my past Saturday was filled with vacay prep fun.

I went to my favourite beauty-place in Ghent: Beautyqueen, “Beautyque and City Spa“. I always get my nails done here, they use OPI for their manis and pedis. In store you can buy an amazing range of OPI-products, but also China Glaze, Faby, Bumble & Bumble,… Check out their website to see the whole range which is also sold online!
I always get great service here and can recommend this place to everyone.

The only problem I always have is choosing a polish… #firstworldproblems, I know.
For a summer getaway bright is the way to go and I ended up choosing Color So Hot It Berns, which was part of OPI’s Fall 2010 Swiss Collection.

mani

I opted for the Axxium Soak Off Gel mani, which lasts for about 3-4 weeks on me, perfect for a vacation-mani. Beautyqueen also offer regular manis and Gelcolor (I get 2-3 weeks of wear with this). If I recall correctly, Axxium Soak Off is cured with UV-light and Gelcolor with UV or LED. Gelcolor does not require any buffing of the nail, Axxium does. While Gelcolor can easily be removed at home with the right tools, Axxium is best removed by the pro’s at the salon in my opinion.

When deciding between the 2 I always look at 2 factors: how long do I want it to stay pristine and will I have the time to get it removed at the salon again?

Afterwards I went a little crazy at H&M because I needed some summer dresses… Shopping there isn’t always a nice experience, it gets really busy, there are enormous lines for the fitting rooms,… But you have to power through because you can always buy some great stuff at an amazing price.

Then it was time for the hardcore stuff: waxing! There are 3 Ici Paris XL‘s in Belgium that have an “Institut de Beauté” where you can get spoiled (or not so much: waxing, anyone?) in all kinds of ways. They offer treatments from various brands, like Sisley, La Mer, Orlane,… For more info and prices, take a look at the details here.
After the waxing (not much details to be given here, you probably know the drill) it was time to relax and enjoy a facial treatment by Filorga.
Ici Paris XL Anderlecht (at Westland Shopping Center) just added these Filorga treatments to their range and I must say I’m impressed.
My aesthetician explained what the treatment would entail, analyzed my skin and gave some tips to improve my skincare routine (not much, I’m a good girl!). It was such a treat, really relaxing and it resulted in the softest skin afterwards, awesome. (I can’t remember exactly which treatment I got, sorry… #badblogger)

The lovely thing about these “spas” in the store is you can go shopping for the skincare products afterwards. Well, our wallets might disagree here, but hey…

I did buy some stuff, but not skincare.
I’ve been thinking about getting a new foundation to replace my MAC Matchmaster and planned on buying Chanel Vitalumière Aqua after seeing many raves about it online. However, after some swatching I actually decided to buy Yves Saint Laurent Le Teint Touch Eclat, because I seemed to get more coverage.
I also checked out Chanel Les Beiges Fluide Belle Mine because I am a fan of the powder but I was looking for an actual foundation and thus opted for YSL. (Yes, I do have some restraint when shopping.) I will report back on the foundation!
Another product I was curious about was Le Blush Crème de Chanel, I tried Intonation (69) and really liked the texture and pigmentation. I might get back to these in the near future.

And last but not least I bought the 2 Bourjois Rouge Edition Velvet shades I wanted: check out my previous post on this great product. Grand Cru (08) and Ole Flamingo (05) are now part of the family as well.

Voilà, ready for some relaxation!

 

One thought on “Vacation prep: nails, waxing, facial treatment

  1. Pingback: Milan Haul part 2: Burberry | Beauty... and the rest

Leave a Reply

